DEMOLITION GUIDELINES
FOR
Commercial Structures

Your understanding of the Demolition Guidelines is required before obtaining a
city demolition permit. By signing this document, the applicant agrees to abide
by the stipulations therein. Any violations will subject the applicant to citations
and/or fines. The applicant will abide by the Arkansas Fire Code, Chapter 33-
FIRE SAFETY DURING CONSTRUCTION AND DEMOLITION.
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Approved vehicle access for firefighting shall be provided to the demolition site.

Portable fire extinguishers shall be made available every 75 feet (walking distance).
Combustible debris shall not be allowed to accumulate within or near buildings.

Debris will not be disposed of by burning on site.

Temporary wiring for electrical power and lighting installations used in connection with the
demolition of structures shall comply with the NEC Electrical Code and city codes.

Any demolition using explosives shall be used in accordance with Chapter 33 of the Arkansas
Fire Code.

The Fire Marshal’s Office shall be contacted by the responsible party upon start and
completion of demolition.

Demolition shall be completed within 30 days of issue of the Demolition Permit. If more time
is needed, the permit holder should contact Planning and The Fire Marshal’s Office.
Contractor has given 10 day notice of intent to ADEQ (AR Dept of Environmental Quality)
before demolition begins.

Before a demo permit can be issued, the structure must be subjected to an asbestos survey and
if asbestos is discovered it must be abated by a certified and properly licensed asbestos
abatement contractor and a copy of the survey supplied to the Planning Department at the
time of applying for a permit.

Name of Applicant

Address of Demolition Site

Home Address of Applicant

Phone Number:

Signature of Applicant




